Creepy Crafting… Mwa-ha-ha-ha!

I’m going to skip adding a handy-dandy little poll here to see how many of you are on Pinterest. Let’s just give each other knowing looks and nonjudgmental nods. If I had to calculate the ratio of pins I pin to pins I actually execute, it would make me weep. Instead, I choose to focus on pins I actually HAVE done, and that makes me feel better about all the weeks¬†hours of time have probably logged. Thank you, Pinterest, for not having a widget that tells us how much time we have¬†wasted spent there.

Since this blog is primarily about the many things that happen in my kitchen, I’m going to show you the two Halloween wreaths girl-child and I finished at the kitchen table. I’m not gonna lie. Planning to blog about it was just the push I needed to make sure these wreaths didn’t retire to Almost Done Land, which borders So Near and Yet So Far-skia and The United Republic of Good Intentions.

I got all the stuff I needed to make an eyeball wreath and a bone wreath. First, a word about the eyeball wreath. In the original version, there are lots of ping pong balls with googly eyes attached. I am a fan of the googly eye. When I got a bag o’ eyes at Dollar Tree, I was amused to learn how to say it in French. Observe (pun intended):Image

But when I went to Target and Academy, I found out that those little suckers are more expensive than I thought. I figured I could get a nice big bag of ping pong balls for not a lot of money. But at about 50 cents each, there was no way this eyeball wreath was going to be affordable. (On the original blog, she says she ordered a bag of practice balls online, so maybe that’s cheaper.) Last year, I bought a bag of ping pong ball-sized eyeballs at one of those Halloween stores, so I decided to go that route. I found the same ones at Party City, and at 10 eyeballs for $2, I bought ten bags.Image

That left me some extra to use around the house. (I have a glass vase full of last year’s eyeballs. I never feel alone when I’m watching TV.)

I got the wreath form at JoAnn when I got the wreath for for the bone wreath. But more on that in a moment. Here are some action shots of the eyeball wreath’s evolution:ImageImage

When she finished hot gluing all those eyeballs onto the wreath, we just hot glued a length of black satin ribbon so I could hang it over my fireplace where our Christmas stockings hang in December. Check out my crows on the mantle in front of my lanterns. And that little purple thing is a glass skull that holds a candle. Last year, I hit a lot of after-Halloween sales so I could have cooler decorations. I got some “wicked” deals!Image

Okay, so let’s dish on the bone wreath. How many times have you seen a Pinterest project that calls for “dollar store” something? And how many times have you thought, “Well, I don’t know what dollar store YOU go to, but mine never has that!” For instance, I love the idea of propping open a garment bag to use as a spray paint tent, but they don’t have garment bags at the dollar store. Calling you out on that one, Sister Whoever You Are.

So, when I saw the great-looking bone wreath, and it said it used dollar store skeletons, I pretty much wrote it off. But when I went to Dollar Tree, and saw that those actual skeletons were actually THERE, I about hit the floor. But not until I snagged six of them for my wreath. So, if you want to make this, and there’s a Dollar Tree in your area, hurry.

As instructed, I came home and dismembered the little guys. The parts pop apart pretty easily, and you can snip off all the little loops and nobs with any pair of scissors. Don’t overthink this. Do you feel like a serial killer, making neat little piles of parts? Yes, you do. It’s important to be able to turn that off at will.Image

The process is fairly simple. You start with the big torso pieces and glue them not too neatly around your wreath, then start filling in with the other bones. Don’t feel like you have to do all the femurs, then all the ulnas, and so on. (Did you know I started college in pre-med classes?) But I do recommend saving the skulls until close to the end. They need to show clearly.

I used a floral foam wreath, which turned out to be a mistake. Let’s call that a cliffhanger while I show you what it looked like when I was done gluing:Image

I took my little bone pile out to the garage to begin spray painting. Honestly, I just love spray paint. I don’t think it’s the fumes (well, not JUST the fumes…) I love that you can transform so many things just with a can of spray paint. And anything you can spray paint once, you can spray paint again later. As a crafter and DIYer, I offer thanks to the humble can of spray paint for offering me the reassurance that many, many, many things do not have to stay the ugly color I find them in. But enough about that.

In the blog, she said she used silver and then some misting of black here and there to give dimension. I used a combo of silver, bronze, and black because I had all of those on hand. First, I decided to finish off a small can of white and try to use it as sort of a primer for that green foam. This is where things looked less and less like the Pinterest picture.

It became apparent I would have to do something to cover all the styrofoam. I knew better, but I guess I hoped for a surprise. You just can’t spray paint styrofoam and have it look like anything but painted styrofoam. So, I focused on getting the bones painted the way I wanted them while I tried to think of what I could cover the inside and outside edges with.

Lucky me! Before I closed the blog post, I scrolled down to see if she had gotten many comments on the wreath. I found some Related Links and followed one that showed where she did the same wreath but with moss glued in all the spaces. It looked good. And when she told me she got the moss at the dollar store, I knew I could trust her.

I was right.

Hot gluing crumbly floral moss to styrofoam is messy and frustrating, but it worked out. When I was done, I sprayed the whole thing with a clear coat, hoping that would help hold the moss in place. I love the wreath! Here it is on my front door:Image

So, there you have it! Pinterest projects we actually did and liked! I actually have a board with that name, so I have repinned these to that board. Yes, repinning my own pins. Shut up.

Happy Halloween!

6 thoughts on “Creepy Crafting… Mwa-ha-ha-ha!

    • I can’t believe you already found this! I was going to go to your post and the other blogger’s post to share the link and tell you thanks. It really does look great, and I never would have come up with that on my own. You rock, sister!

  1. Jen, loved the post. I love spray paint, too. I painted so much cool stuff last year for Halloween in a couple of days with glossy black paint and matte finish black paint. Got fake gourds and painted them in silver and black and left some pops of orange in my silvery grey dining room. Missed out on ordering the mercury glass pumpkins at PBarn…so I made my own using, you guessed it, spray paint and splatters! It looks great! If I have time, I’m gonna do Mr. Bones, here. It looks awesome!

    • Love that idea to spray paint fake autumn gourds. Nice! I love mercury glass, too. I did a project I may blog about in the future, where I antiqued my own mirrors. It’s that same kind of splotchy glass look. Reflection and great texture, huh? Great hearing from you!

  2. I’m really going to do this. My husband just reminded me that we’re having a “Dia de los Muertos” party for my daugther’s first birthday (she was born on that day — Nov 2), so this would be perfect! Going to Dollar Tree manana! Carla Filla

    • I love Mexican things, and our house is sort of a rustic Mexican look. I really love Day of the Dead! The really nice pieces aren’t cheap, but if you’re using them for decor, you don’t need much. Someday… I also always thought it would be cool to get full-size skeletons to make a Day of the Dead Halloween display in the front yard. Wouldn’t it be nice if our time and budget matched our wish lists? Post pictures of that party, it sounds great! Sugar skulls for everyone!

Leave a Reply

